Two debutants in the Irish Women’s European Championship women’s basketball team


TWO unselected players, including footballer Mayo Dayna Finn and DCU Mercy’s Rachel Huijsden, have been named to Ireland’s senior women’s squad for the European Championship next month.

The other players have gained significant experience in minors, winning silver at the European Women’s U-18 Championship in 2017 and bronze at the European Women’s U-20 Championship in 2019.

Sorcha Tiernan and Claire Melia were also among those Irish medal-winning teams for minors and have already won the Irish senior squad ahead of the tournament in Cyprus.

“Since we were cleared to resume team training in April, I have been so impressed with the commitment, dedication and preparation of our team members, working with our management team,” said L Irish Senior Women’s Head Coach James Weldon.

“Therefore, it was a difficult decision to select a final squad, with so many talented and exceptional players to choose from.”

Ireland’s opener is against Andorra on July 20, followed by seeded Malta in Pool A on July 22. Their other opponents in the pool, Norway, withdrew from the tournament in accordance with new guidelines from the Norwegian government.

IRELAND SENIOR WOMEN’SQUAD – Michelle Clarke (Pyrobel Killester), Gráinne Dwyer (Fr Mathews), Dayna Finn (Maree BC), Rachel Huijsdens (DCU Mercy), Claire Melia (Glanmire), Aine McKenna (Glanmire), Aine O’Connor (Liffey Celtics), Fiona O’Dwyer (Without signature), Claire Rockall (Glanmire), Sorcha Tiernan (Liffey Celtics), Edel Thornton (Brunell BC), Hannah Thornton (DCU Mercy)


Previous "We hope he likes good coffee, sourdough and almond croissants" - Abbeyleix residents welcome billionaire Stripe to town
Next Ireland, one of nine countries not to sign the OECD global tax deal

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.