Ireland imposes compulsory COVID-19 test for all arrivals from December 3

Irish authorities have announced that from December 3, all arrivals from other territories will be required to test negative for the coronavirus upon arrival.

Such a move comes with the aim of stopping the spread of the coronavirus, in particular the Omicron variant which has started to affect several European countries, reports

Irish authorities have also announced that people who have not completed their coronavirus vaccination process will be required to show a negative PCR result, no more than 72 hours, while those who have been vaccinated against the virus may decide whether they want to show a negative result on the PCR test or the antigen test (no more than 48 hours).

“As of Friday, December 3, 2021, all arrivals aged 12 and over who are fully vaccinated or recovered from COVID-19 must provide either a negative or undetected antigen test (done within 48 hours before arrival ) either a negative or undetected RT. – PCR test (done within 72 hours before arrival) » the statement issued by the Irish government reads.

The Irish government has also made it clear that anyone who has visited any of the following countries in the past two weeks should not travel to Ireland except for emergencies.

Based on figures provided by the World Health Organization (WHO), Ireland has recorded a total of 564,657 cases of COVID-19 infection and 43 deaths since the start of the pandemic.

The same source shows that in the past seven days Ireland has reported 30,063 cases of COVID-19 infection and 43 deaths.

According to data provided by the European Center for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC), 76.4% of the Irish population have been vaccinated against the virus in Ireland so far.

Authorities in Ireland today confirmed the first case of the Omicron variant, while tests were carried out at the National Virus Reference Laboratory.

  • Botswana
  • Eswatini
  • Lesotho
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • South Africa
  • Zimbabwe

However, the Irish authorities have confirmed that certain exemptions will apply. Irish citizens or EU citizens as well as their family members, UK citizens, legal residents of Ireland, diplomats as well as transport workers are exempt from entry requirements when traveling to Ireland .

“Travelers should self-quarantine at the address you provided on your passenger tracking form for 14 days from arrival. You must take an RT-PCR test on day 2 and day 8. The HSE will contact you to arrange testing. You can leave home quarantine on the tenth day if your tests are negative. If your test is positive, you must quarantine for ten days from the date of the positive test ”, the statement reads.

Since November 30, the Irish authorities have forced all arrivals, regardless of their vaccination status, to present a negative result for the coronavirus test, at the latest 72 hours before their arrival.

Previous Cooperation between data centers is essential to ensure that "the lights don't go out"
Next Ulster Bank customers have six months to leave before leaving the bank