Claire Grady becomes the new president of the NewsBrands Journalism Awards jury

Former Irish Independent and Herald editor Claire Grady has been named the new chair of the NewsBrands Ireland Journalism Awards jury.

s Grady will chair a panel of independent judges who will choose the best journalism of the past year. This year’s awards received more than 800 entries in 22 categories, including digital innovation, video journalism, politics, business, crime, opinion, sports, reporting, showbiz, podcasts, arts, business and magazines.

The awards ceremony will take place at the Dublin Mansion on Thursday November 17 and will be hosted by broadcaster and journalist Matt Cooper.

Judging begins later this month and the shortlist will be announced in late October. Among this year’s jury members are former publishers Allan Prosser, Geraldine Kennedy, Frank Fitzgibbon, Sebastian Hamilton and Des Gibson. The winners will be announced at an awards ceremony on November 17.

As a former editor of the Irish Independent and the Herald, Ms Grady brings a wealth of experience to the jury. She began her career as a reporter for regional newspapers in Mayo and Dublin and worked in independent newspapers for nearly three decades. For the past few years, Ms. Grady has held the position of communications manager in a public sector organization.

Speaking about her role, she said: “In an era of unprecedented competition for people’s attention, journalists in the news media in Ireland continue to be trusted voices, telling compelling stories. The quality of entries for the Journalism Awards in recent, particularly difficult years, testifies to the resilience and adaptability of journalists in the news media sector, as well as their commitment to their profession.

“I am honored to succeed Tim Vaughan as Chairman of the Jury and delighted to play a part in recognizing the best in Irish journalism.”

Commenting on Ms Grady’s appointment, Ann Marie Lenihan, CEO of NewsBrands Ireland, said: “We are delighted to welcome Claire as the new Chair of the Jury. Claire has been an independent jury member for three years and as a former editor of a national newspaper, with over thirty years of experience in journalism, her experience and expertise are second to none.

Previous Brexit LIVE: Truss' 'biggest mistake' warned Boris' departure would cripple post-EU 'fantasy' | Politics | New
Next CHESAPEAKE GRANITE WASH TRUST Trustee's Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations (Form 10-Q)